I Want to Unplug

Every day I get home and I want the same basic thing: I want to unplug. I want to disconnect.

I’ve never really liked being surrounded by gadgets. I like fresh air and sunshine. I like machines shut off at night. No whirring fans. No blinking lights. Computers are best in the daylight and in limited amounts. There’s something neurotic about being up until all hours of the night, having one or more video screens constantly in your presence. I’ve always felt this way. Sometimes I feel like the only one that feels this way.

I work in an environment that’s rather cloistered. I have one, two, sometimes three video screens in front of me. There are cables and electronics all over my desk. There is not a whole lot of sunlight or fresh air although there is plenty of racket in the way of conversations and workplace din. Sometimes I need to get out of there. Sometimes I find it difficult to clear my head. The job is demanding mentally. Sometimes it makes me feel disconnected. Sometimes it makes me feel like I need to decompress. I am not asking for a different software job. I get that they will all be like this. I’m doing the job I wanted when I was sixteen.

I’ve never understood the modern person’s drive for the latest gadgets. I work in a very high-tech field and yet, as far as I can tell, I’m the biggest Luddite of anyone I know. I resisted DVDs. I resisted HDTV. I resisted cell phones. I resisted smart phones. I just kept asking, “Why do we need it?”

And still… when I go to bed at night, I like my electronics shut off. Computers off. Laptops off. No electronic gadgets in my room save a lamp and a fan. Not even an alarm clock. My iPhone may be in the room but often it is powered off, at least while I’m asleep. It just gives me a sense of mental peace to know all that stuff is powered off.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Want to Unplug

  1. Dr. Frankenputz says:

    Aaron,

    I’m in a similar situation and believe I understand your desire to shun the latest gadgets. For me, it extends to avoiding TV, commercial radio, newspapers, mindless consumption, etc.

    Fortunately, I don’t work in an office. I do work for a large company, but I get to work from home. I’m not even in the same state as any other employees, thankfully. Another thing I can’t t stand is mindless chatter — people repeating the same lame-ass sayings or regurgitating the news.

    Still, despite the many advantages offered, these same four walls can often feel like a prison cell. Is this what I was put on Earth to do? I used to look forward to the weekend, but even that doesn’t excite me, because I know it’s but a brief respite from more of the same next week.

    Yesterday, I heard this and it really resonated with me. Maybe you will like it, too.

    What if money was no object? – Alan Watts

    I found your blog, via your posting on Matt Stone’s 180 Degree Health blog. I use several monikers on his site, but they’re usually easy to spot, due to their absurdity. Plus, you would also likely note a congruence in the writing style. Or, lack thereof.

    Take care.

Leave a Reply

